Carmel High School hockey teams win state championships

  • CIC-COM-0405-Hockey 1
    The Icehounds gold team is, back row, from left, coach Mike Christe, coach Brad Minnick, Banks Burkart, Jacob Hughes, Bob Fritsch, Reece Morris, Vince Grasso, Spencer Anderson, coach Dan Desmond, coach Tyler Douthitt, middle row, Will Carlson, Kaleb Boyl, Will Patton, Danny Popowics, Trevor Anderson, Jack Donnelly, front row, Andrew Lapel, Garrett Hendrick, Jack Knipscheer, Tanner Plotkowski, Danny Anderson, Joe Stebbins, Spencer Lyon and Will Schlagenhauf. (Photo by Mark Evrard)
  • CIC-COM-0405-Hockey 2
    The Icehounds blue team is, back row from left, Ali Sinnett, Derek Berry, Andrew Callas, Jack O'Hara, Teddy Munn, Ben Youkilis, Trent Franklin, Justin Carlton, Jerod Cheslock, middle row, coach Mike Christy Isaac Tromizak, Griffin Thomas, Ryan Cole, Brian Schnelzer, Henry Harkins, Like McDonald, Robbie Ballone, Evan Melangton, Jackson Kemple, and front row, John Schlagenhauf and Ben Lurie. (Photo by Mark Evrard)

Two hockey teams from Carmel High School recently won state titles in their respective divisions, a first for the program.

The Icehounds gold team defeated the Columbus Icemen 2-1 to claim the 4A championships. The team had an overall record of 50-10-4 and was ranked No. 1 for the entire season. The gold team has won back-to-back state championships for the first time since the 1983-1984 seasons.

The Icehounds blue team won its matchup against the Perry South Stars A team, 3-2, to claim the 2A title. The team went into the playoffs as the sixth seed and had a 26-19-6 record for the season.

The two Carmel teams have won five Indiana State High School Hockey Association titles since 2012.

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.